The opening of the 2022 MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship season is drawing near and some records could be broken this year. In this article, we have compiled the most important numbers to keep in mind.

1000 – Ducati could become the first manufacturer to reach 1,000 podium finishes in WorldSBK history. The Italian manufacturer currently has 984.

900 – WorldSBK will take a new step in 2022 by organizing the 900th race in its history (35 years) at the Mandalika circuit.

850/750 – The Superpole Race in Barcelona will be the 850th appearance for the UK, while Race 1 in Aragon will mark the 750th appearance for France.

500 – Just 11 Top 3s to go before Kawasaki reaches the 500 podium mark in WorldSBK.

400 – Nine podiums would allow Italy to take their WorldSBK Top 3 total to 400. In 2021, Michael Ruben Rinaldi ( Racing – Ducati), Andrea Locatelli (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) and Axel Bassani (Motocorsa Racing) recorded 12 .

300 – The UK is now just two points away from the top 300 in WorldSBK. Great Britain’s 299th WorldSBK win would put the Brits 180 wins ahead of second-placed USA.

275 – UK also aiming for 275 fastest race laps in WorldSBK; British drivers already have more than twice as many as their nearest rival Italy (128).

135 – In addition to getting his 1,000th podium finish, a Ducati one-two finish in 2022 would be the 135th in his history; the plant already holds the record and would be the first to reach this milestone.

120 – Honda’s next victory in WorldSBK will be the winged constructor’s 120th. Iker Lecuona and Xavi Vierge intend to achieve it on behalf of Team HRC. The first of the duo to win will be the first Spanish rookie to win since Carlos Checa at Miller Motorsports Park in 2008 (Race 1).

118 – Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) has a total of 112 wins. If he gets six, he’ll have twice as many hits as Carl Fogarty (59 wins).

100 – Yamaha is only five units away from its 100th WorldSBK success.

14 – Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) will be the 14th rider to wear the #1 in WorldSBK, and the first for Yamaha.

13 – If Jonathan Rea manages to win from Estoril, he will set the record for the longest winning race in WorldSBK. The current record is Haga’s 12 years, 11 months (Sugo 1997-Nurburgring 2010). A victory for the Northern Irishman in the first race at Estoril would correspond exactly to this value of the day. A win at Donington (or later) would mark the first time that two successes have been 13 years apart.

5 – Razgatlioglu could well become the fifth rider in WorldSBK history to win back-to-back titles. Fred Merkel in 1988 and 1999 was the first. He was followed by Doug Polen (1991 and 1992), Carl Fogarty (1994 and 1995, then 1998 and 1999). Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) won two titles in 2015 and 2016 and has a total of six titles in a row.

3 – If Rea crowns the crown, he would become the third driver to claim the throne the year after losing it. Colin Edwards won the title in 2000 and 2002, after losing it in 2001, while Troy Bayliss won the 2006 and 2008 editions after losing the crown from him in 2007.

Follow the preparations for the 2022 MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship season by subscribing to the VideoPass now!

Regina Anderson

"Extreme gamer. Food geek. Internet buff. Alcohol expert. Passionate music specialist. Beeraholic. Incurable coffee fan."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.