Which countries belong to NATO? List and year of incorporation

NATO is a military defense alliance. Originally they founded twelve states, in the meantime it has grown to 30 members.

NATO is a defense alliance of North American and European countries. NATO is an abbreviation for “North Atlantic Treaty Organization”, which means “North Atlantic Treaty Organization”. According to NATO, its goal is to “guarantee the freedom and security of its members through political and military means.”

30 NATO members in 2022

The twelve founding members of NATO were Belgium, Denmark, France, the United Kingdom, Iceland, Italy, Canada, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, and the United States. Over time, more and more countries became members of NATO. For example, Germany joined the organization on May 6, 1955, six years after its creation. The North Atlantic alliance now has 30 members in 2022.

Video: AFP

These countries are members of NATO:

  • United Kingdom (1949)
  • USA (1949)
  • Belgium (1949)
  • Canada (1949)
  • Denmark (1949)
  • France (1949)
  • Iceland (1949)
  • luxembourg (1949)
  • Netherlands (1949)
  • Italy (1949)
  • Norway (1949)
  • Portugal (1949)
  • Greece (1952)
  • Turkey (1952)
  • Germany (1955)
  • Spain (1982)
  • Hungary (1999)
  • Poland (1999)
  • Czech Republic (1999)
  • Romania (2004)
  • Slovakia (2004)
  • Slovenia (2004)
  • Bulgaria (2004)
  • Estonia (2004)
  • latvia (2004)
  • Lithuania (2004)
  • Albanian (2009)
  • Croatia (2009)
  • montenegro (2017)
  • north macedonia (2020)

NATO Foundation: When and why was NATO created?

NATO was founded on April 4, 1949. At that time, the founding countries primarily pursued the goal of cooperating militarily and politically in the event of a conflict with the Soviet Union.

Article 5 of the North Atlantic Treaty regulates the NATO alliance to this day. This establishes that an armed attack against a member country must be considered an attack against all of NATO. The other members are then obliged to support and defend the attacked country.

Russia has criticized the admission of new NATO members

Russia had before kRiegs in Ukraine repeatedly criticized NATO’s eastward expansion through the admission of new members and referred to their own security interests. NATO allies rejected this criticism of the admission of new members, arguing that each country could decide for itself which countries to ally with and whether to join a defense alliance such as NATO, thanks to its self-determination.

Also read about it

Is Ukraine planning to join NATO?

No, Ukraine’s NATO membership is currently out of the question, although the country has even made NATO and EU membership a national goal. NATO and Ukraine have been partners since 1997. At a NATO summit in 2008, the country’s membership was promised. However, this has failed so far, mainly due to concerns by some members that it would provoke Russia.

These arguments came and continue to come from Germany. Angela Merkel has always been skeptical about Ukraine joining NATO as chancellor. And today’s Federal Chancellor, Olaf Scholz, announced that there will probably be no progress on this issue as long as Vladimir Putin is President of Russia.

Read the latest news about the Ukraine conflict on the live blog.

Regina Anderson

"Extreme gamer. Food geek. Internet buff. Alcohol expert. Passionate music specialist. Beeraholic. Incurable coffee fan."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *