Sanctions remove Apple Pay support from five banks in Russia

Apple Pay support was withdrawn from five banks in Russia as Australia, the United States, the United Kingdom, the European Union, and Japan imposed economic sanctions on Russia amid the violent invasion of Ukraine, and the sanctions suspended foreign transactions indefinitely. with Russian banks.

Business Insider reports that five major Russian banks have seen their international operations restricted, with digital wallets like Apple Pay and Google Pay now suspended for banking customers along with VTB Group, Sovcombank, Novikombank, Promsvyazbank and Otkritie.

As detailed by business internwho cites the Central Bank of Russiacustomers in Russia who bank with sanctioned banks will not be able to use their bank cards internationally or make online payments to a company registered in countries that have imposed sanctions on Russia.

Apple CEO Tim Cook condemned Russia’s attack on Ukraine in a tweet Thursday and said the iPhone maker would support local humanitarian efforts.

Not all news on the site expresses the views of the site, but we automatically transmit these news and translate them through programmatic technology on the site and not by a human editor.

Dennis Alvarado

"Total social media fan. Travel maven. Evil coffee nerd. Extreme zombie specialist. Wannabe baconaholic. Organizer."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.