Russia publishes a list of countries considered “hostile” – 03/07/2022 at 15:17

March 7 (Reuters) – The Russian government said on Monday it had approved a list of countries and territories whose actions are seen as “hostile” to Russia, its businesses and its citizens, following sanctions imposed by Western countries following the invasion. from Moscow. from Ukraine

This list includes the United States, all member countries of the European Union, the United Kingdom, Japan, Canada, Norway, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland and Ukraine, according to a government press release.

It follows a March 5 presidential decree authorizing the Russian government, businesses and citizens to temporarily pay foreign currency debts owed to creditors in “hostile countries” in rubles.

To make these payments, borrowers will need to open a specific ruble account in a Russian bank and transfer there the ruble equivalent of the amount due in foreign currency at the official exchange rate of the central bank on the day of payment.

This temporary regime for the payment of debts abroad applies to payments greater than 10 million rubles per month (69,785 euros).

The Russian government added that all business transactions with companies and personalities from countries considered “hostile” must now get the green light from a government commission.

Numerous Western companies have announced in recent days their withdrawal from Russia or the suspension of their activities in the country in reaction to the Russian offensive in Ukraine.

(Reuters Offices, Blandine Hénault for the French version, edited by Marc Angrand)

Vince Fernandez

"Professional food trailblazer. Devoted communicator. Friendly writer. Avid problem solver. Tv aficionado. Lifelong social media fanatic."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.